Buffalo County
  • Buffalo County - Facilities OMP

    Facilities General Maintenance Worker

    Buffalo County Facilities currently has a position open for a general maintenance worker. Experience in building maintenance and/or commercial construction is preferred, but we are willing to train the right person.

    General Purpose
    Perform work involving general, electrical, plumbing and/or HVAC maintenance and repair of County buildings and grounds, which may also include, but is not limited to, the installation and maintenance of equipment and utilities, and some remodel/new construction. Applicants must complete a standard application, available at www.buffalocounty.ne.gov/EMPLOYMENT. Applicants must also submit a resume and cover letter. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

    Minimum Qualifications

    • High school education or equivalent is preferred. Some advanced education and/or skills training is strongly preferred.
    • Thorough knowledge of methods, materials and techniques utilized in general building maintenance and/or general commercial construction is required.
    • Ability to safely operate some machinery is preferred, such as mowers, skidsteer, forklift, etc.
    • Ability to understand and follow both oral and written instructions, and ability to work efficiently and complete duties with minimal supervision.
    • Ability to maintain confidentiality.
    • Ability to establish and maintain positive rapport with supervisors, fellow employees and the general public while presenting a positive image for the County.
    • Applicants must be able to comply with all physical requirements as required by the position and must pass a background check.
    • Applicants must possess a valid Nebraska Driver's License and be eligible to be insured under the County's insurance policies.


    • This position is a non-exempt position.
    • Starting wage will be $17.00 - $25.00 per hour, depending upon qualifications.
    • Comprehensive benefit package including retirement.

    Application submission
    Please submit complete application, resume and cover letter to:

    Buffalo County Board Administrator 1512 Central Avenue
    PO Box 1270
    Kearney, NE 68848

    Applications will be accepted until the position is filled. Initial application review will be made on 9/8/2023

    EOE/ AA/Veterans Preference

Marriage License

Requirements for a marriage license issued by Buffalo County:

1. Applicants must be at least 17 years of age to be married in the state of Nebraska. Parental consent is required for applicants who are 17 or 18 years of age. The parental consent forms are available at the County Clerk's office.
2. Both applicants must appear together at the County Clerk's office between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays.
3. The fee for a marriage license is $25.00, CASH ONLY.  (See our ATM locations in the courthouse.)
4. Must present photo identification. A valid driver's license from any U.S. state, Nebraska ID card, U.S. Passport, U.S. Military card, or a Foreign passport are acceptable forms of photo identification. All documents will be in English or translated by a certified court translator. Proof of citizenship or immigration status is neither relevant or required.
5. Need to know birthplace for both applicants. 
6. Need to know full names and birthplaces of parents.
7. If a social security number has been issued to the applicants, we will need that information. The issuance of a social security number to either applicant is not required to obtain a Marriage License.
8. If there were any previous marriages we will need to know how they ended (divorce, annulment or death) and the date the divorce was final or the date of death. If there is a previous divorce, a new license will not be issued and you cannot remarry until at least six (6) months and one (1) day have passed from the date the Decree was signed by the judge and filed with District Court.
9. The Marriage License is good for one year from the date of issuance and can be used in any County in Nebraska.
10. All marriage licenses obtained in Nebraska are public record.

All marriage licenses obtained in Nebraska are public record.

For information about scheduling the Buffalo County Court Magistrate to conduct a marriage ceremony, contact Sharmin Gonzales at sharmin.gonzales@nejudicial.gov or 308-236-1229.

Wedding Rings

Certified copy of a Buffalo County marriage license

To Receive a Buffalo County certified marriage license either stop by the clerk’s office with $9.00 cash or send a $9.00 money order and the following information: 
  • Name of Applicant A/Groom
  • Name of Applicant B/Bride (including maiden name)
  • Date of marriage (Must be issued from Buffalo County)
Mail to:
Buffalo County Clerk
PO Box 1270
Kearney, NE 68848-1270

If you have any questions, contact us by:
Phone: (308) 236-1226
E-mail: clerk@buffalocounty.ne.gov


Changing name after the wedding

This is a personal decision. You may choose to keep your name but if you decide to change your name legally, you should do the paperwork as soon as possible after you're married (or after your honeymoon). Many entities will require you to present a certified copy of your marriage license as proof of legal status to make your name change. Photocopies and keepsakes are not recognized by most government offices as proof of marriage. The following is a list of what may need to be updated.
  • Social Security Card (require certified copy)
  • Bank, credit union, and investment accounts 
  • Vehicle title/registration
  • Driver's license (require certified copy)
  • Mortgage
  • Homeowner's insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Car insurance
  • Medical and dental records
  • Credit cards and files
  • Deeds and property titles
  • Passport
  • Voter registration card
  • IRS forms
  • Church records
  • Mail and newspaper subscriptions
  • Employer/payroll
  • Post office
  • Your attorney (to update legal documents, will)
  • Military records
  • Utilities/Subscriptions
Return to top


This article tagged as: